IMPORTANT NOTICE ON NEW RESTRICTIONS RELATED TO NOVEL CORONAVIRUS

- 1 Since the Government of Japan designated Novel Coronavirus(aka COVID-19) as "Designated Infectious Disease" under the Infectious Diseases Act of Japan, foreign nationals who are deemed as patients of Novel Coronavirus shall be denied permission to land in Japan pursuant to Immigration Control and Refugee Recognition Act of Japan. As the Government of Japan also designated Novel Coronavirus as "Quarantinable Infectious Diseases" under Quarantine Act of Japan, foreign nationals who are suspected of being afflicted with Novel Coronavirus would be ordered to be quarantined with no exception for valid visa holders.
- 2 The Government of Japan also decided on 19 Mar. 2020 that for the time being, those who fall under the three categories below are not permitted to land in Japan unless there are exceptional circumstances.

- Foreign nationals who have travelled to

People's Republic of China	Hubei Province/ Zhejiang Province
Republic of Korea	Daegu/ Gyeongsangbuk-do (Gyeongsan-si/Andong-si/ Yeongcheon-si/Chilgok-gun/ Uiseong-gun/ Seongju-gun/Cheongdo-gun/Gunwi-gun)
Republic of Iceland	All Round
Islamic Republic of Iran	Qom Province/ Tehran Province/ Gilan Province/Mazandaran Province/Isfahan Province/Alborz Province/Markazi Province/Qazvin Province/Semnan Province/Golestan Province/Lorestan Province
Italian Republic	Lombardia/Veneto/Emilia=Romagna/Marche/Piemonte Liguria/Valle d'Aosta/Trentino=Alto Adige/Friuli Venezia Giulia/Aosta Valley
Republic of San Marino	All Round
Swiss Confederation	Canton of Ticino/Canton of Basel-Stadt
Kingdom of Spain	Autonomous Community of Navarre/Madrid Region/Basque Country/ La Rioja

within 14days before arriving in Japan.

- Foreign nationals who hold a passport issued by the Hubei/Zhejiang Province Authority.
- Foreign Nationals aboard a passenger ship which sails for the purpose of entering Japanese port and carries a risk of being afflicted by an outbreak of Novel Coronavirus infectious disease.
- 3 Based on the "Principle Criteria of Visa Issuance", visa applications of those who fall under the categories being not permitted to land in Japan are not accepted. Visa applicants are required to fill in and submit questionnaires on whether or not they have (or will have) travelled to

People's Republic of China	Hubei Province/ Zhejiang Province
Republic of Korea	Daegu/ Gyeongsangbuk-do (Gyeongsan-si/Andong-si/ Yeongcheon-si/Chilgok-gun/ Uiseong-gun/ Seongju-gun/Cheongdo-gun/Gunwi-gun)
Republic of Iceland	All Round
Islamic Republic of Iran	Qom Province/ Tehran Province/ Gilan Province/Mazandaran Province/Isfahan Province/Alborz Province/Markazi Province/Qazvin Province/Semnan Province/Golestan Province/Lorestan Province
Italian Republic	Lombardia/Veneto/Emilia=Romagna/Marche/Piemonte Liguria/Valle d'Aosta/Trentino=Alto Adige/Friuli Venezia Giulia/Aosta Valley
Republic of San Marino	All Round
Swiss Confederation	Canton of Ticino/Canton of Basel-Stadt
Kingdom of Spain	Autonomous Community of Navarre/Madrid Region/Basque Country/ La Rioja

within 14 days before arriving in Japan.

4 Please note that even those foreign nationals who already hold valid visa to Japan would not be permitted to land in Japan if they fall under either of the categories mentioned in 1 and 2 above.

- 5 Any false declaration in the questionnaires will be subject to refusal of visa issuance. New visa application will not be accepted for six months for the same purpose of visit. The visa will be made null and void if any false declaration is revealed after the visa is issued.
- 6 Any false declaration upon landing in Japan may be subject to punitive measures including imprisonment, imposition of fine, revoking of residential status as well as deportation from Japan.